Leitrim Genealogy Centre, Find Your Roots in Ireland

Need Help

About County Leitrim

With an area of 589 square miles and surrounded by six counties, County Leitrim (shaded green on map) lies in the North West of Ireland, 112 miles (180 Kms) approx. from Dublin, Ireland's capital city.  Apart from Dublin airport, there are other airports from which Co. Leitrim can be conveniently reached, Shannon Airport Co. Limerick, Belfast Airport Co. Antrim and Knock airport Co. Mayo.
County Leitrim can also be reached by road, the Dublin-Sligo road (N4) being one of the most modern in the country, and there is also a train service from Dublin to Sligo with stops in Co. Leitrim at Dromod and Carrick-on-Shannon.

County Leitrim has approximately 2km of coastline on the northern extremity between counties Sligo and Donegal.

County Leitrim, like all other Irish counties, is divided up into smaller units called parishes or community areas. The map shows County Leitrim with its parish divisions.

There are also a number of small towns dotted across the county of which Carrick-on-Shannon is the largest and the capital of the county. It is situated on the River Shannon, Ireland's largest river. Other towns are Mohill, Ballinamore, Drumshanbo and Manorhamilton and smaller towns or villages are Cloone, Carrigallen, Newtowngore, Fenagh, Drumsna, Jamestown, Leitrim, Drumkeerin, Dromahaire and Kinlough.


Search Leitrim Records

Online Search of County Leitrim Records


Click here to view printable map of County Leitrim

Click here to view a printable map of
County Leitrim


Privacy Policy